• Subscribe!

  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

  • Join The Mother List community! All things Mom, Baby, Kids and Moms to be!

99 Things to Save Money in Your Household Budget

I just finished thumbing through 99 Things to Save Money in Your Household Budget by Mary Hance (aka Ms. Cheap).  I say “thumbing through” because I really think of this book as something you should pick up often and pick random pages to read.  She has so many great ways to make changes (mostly small, but sometimes bigger) to your daily life that can extend your savings.

Let’s face it, a couple of the ideas such as clipping coupons, you already know.  However,  Ms. Cheap has additional angles on these everyday savers.  For example, one of the tips I loved was to use the salad bar at your local grocery store for more things than salad.  These are generally priced by weight or a flat fee for one container.  Do you have a recipe that you need small quantities of many things?  Are those things in the salad bar?  Pizza? Most salad bars have olives, pepperoni, mushrooms, onions, artichoke hearts and more.  Ah ha!  Pure genius!  I can see myself going crazy next time I’m in Whole Foods!

You also get Ms. Cheap’s take on things like buying extended warranties, bargain shopping and even sweepstakes.  In an economy like ours at the moment, this is definitely a worthwhile read.

Check out 99 Things to Save Money in Your Household Budget by Mary Hance.

P.S. Don’t forget to enter The Mother List’s Giveaway for a Wii AND Wii Fit Plus!!

5 Responses

  1. I love books like this where you can go back again and again for ideas and tips! This one looks like a real winner – who doesn’t need great tips in this economy?? I’m thinking this would be a great stocking stuffer…

  2. I have been saving a ton with this new banana box thing! Its wholesale groceries shipped in banana boxes! I have been getting $150 worth of groceries for $40. There are a few sites, but I have had the best luck here http://grocery.bidtopia.com. Good luck and happy savings 🙂

  3. Never thought of the salad bar tip. How smart is this. And Christie’s tip is also interesting. Let’s hear more. Meanwhile I will get this book.

  4. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess I’ll just have to keep checking yours out

  5. Yes, I highly recommend the book. Very helpful!

Leave a comment